Brookside Cavalier

A couple years ago, I discovered the King Charles Cavalier Spaniel breed, and the more I read about and interacted with them, the more I wanted one.  I looked up breeders, and happened to find one in my immediate area.  I contacted her and talked to her about puppies, but we weren’t ready for one quite yet.  I kept in touch with her.  Then, a light bulb went off in my head, and I offered her free portraits of the dogs.  I get awesome pictures for my portfolio, she gets some for her website, and I get to play with a bunch of awesome dogs!  We kept trying to schedule a photo shoot last year, but we kept having conflicts.  The stars finally aligned at the end of November, and I finally got to meet the breeder and dogs of Brookside Cavalier!

Me with 5 of the Cavaliers 🙂  Photo taken by Barry Littlefield
The two pups she had at the time.  Both have gone home 🙂

Little did I know, when one of her males, Bertie climbed into my lap within 5 minutes of being there, the breeder informed us that she was looking to place him in a home as part of her in home breeding program. Needless to say, a month after the photo shoot, just before Christmas, Bertie became the newest member of the Littlefield family 🙂  We get an awesome dog, and he has a few more years of breeding left, then after that he’s fully ours!  Not a bad deal, if I say so myself.

Bertie – Photo by Barry Littlefield

Now that we are part of the Brookside Cavalier family, I can’t wait to do more photos of all the dogs and puppies!

Leave a Reply

