New Year’s Resolutions

While I don’t usually make New Year’s Resolutions, I am looking to make a lot of changes for this upcoming year regarding my business, and I have set a lot of goals for myself, as well as for the video production side of the business that my husband and I have been working on.  I figure that having a goal to reach for will keep me more motivated than the usual resolutions that we all make and consequently end up forgetting about.  I have learned so much this past year from a lot of research, reading, and talking with other photographers from all over the globe.  Social networking can be a great thing!

I had quite a few great portrait sessions and weddings this year, and while I didn’t make all that much from them, they all helped me build up a great portfolio and gain a lot of valuable experience, and I am truly thankful for the clients that chose me to capture their special memories.  Unfortunately, just having  a great portfolio won’t pay my bills, so I will mention now that my prices will be changing to reflect what my time, talent, and artwork is worth for me to provide my customers with a great end product, and provide myself with a decent living at the same time.  After a year of a lot of work, my eyes have been opened and I now even more highly respect the amazing photographers who’s work I admire and strive to be like someday, when I used to think “wow, their prices are so high, who would pay that much for pictures?”  Knowing what I know now, I would without question.

To put it into perspective, the biggest factor that goes into a photographer’s pricing is their time.  Time that is spent working, away from their family, missing out on things because they’re working over the weekend, etc., and that is what I didn’t realize until this year.  Sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in a day.  Sure, we only spend an hour or two with you for a portrait session, or a single day with you for your wedding.  That’s just a small amount of the time we put into your photos.  There is so much that happens before a session and after a session as well as during.  For a single portrait session, I may end up putting in 10-12 hours total, maybe more.  For a wedding that number can jump to over 20 hours and beyond between consultations, emails and other contact, equipment prep, the event itself, and most of all, processing and editing your photos and delivering them to you as beautiful pieces of art.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about the time I spend working on my sessions, I love watching a picture evolve from a RAW digital file to a finished product.  It can make for some very long days, but I still wouldn’t trade my photography for anything.  I’m extremely lucky and thankful to have the full support of my husband to pursue my dream, and encouragement from my family and friends.  I want to continue to provide wonderful artwork and products for my clients and continue to grow and evolve as an artist.

I’m excited to kick off 2013 with a lot more knowledge and experience, and I will strive to continually expand my knowledge and grow in this industry.  I look forward to meeting lots of new clients and providing a lot of new products and services.  I want to say Thank You to the clients I had this past year who have been a huge part of helping me grow my business, and I hope to work with you all again.  To my new clients that have yet to come, I look forward to meeting all of you and working together to capture and preserve your special memories.  I wish everyone who has been following along a Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays and a Happy New Year!  And so you’re not left without a photo, here is Bertie “helping” decorate the Christmas tree 🙂

255119_706478155587_1863748065_n

Leave a Reply

